When in England

Nostalgia.

That is one word that consumes my mind whenever I think of the past year. In September 2011, I packed 4 excessively overweight suitcases and ventured to live in the land of Queen Elizabeth 11. Being 4725 miles away from home didn’t stop me from piggybacking my Canadian flair across the pond. Arriving in London, I quickly realized the intensity of fashion influence on citizens. In the collage pictured is exactly what I wore when I touched down in London town; however, this ensemble was deemed under-dressed compared to the rest of the trendy population.

Before leaving for the airport, I was smart enough to pack a pair of Hunter wellington boots which saved my Converse All-Stars from getting completely drenched in the totorrential downpour that the city greeted me with. Whilst my feet were cozy and comfortable, my arms were unfortunately not as lucky. My MacBook, Nylon and Vogue magazines, Vitamin Water, numerous bags of sweets, headphones, and other travel essentials weighed me down as my Louis Vuitton Noe bag combated the treacherous burden. *Thankyou LV for producing such sturdy products! Before making the journey to London, I had been residing in Caorle, Italy for 2 weeks where I had an amazing shopping experience in the quaint yet vibrant beach town. Walking through the cobblestone alleys, I found this optical shop that sold the most extravagant and unique eye-wear designs. 30 minutes later, my face had modeled over 20 pairs of the newest fashions, but one in particular caught my attention. Finding a pair sunglasses for my round face shape comes with extreme difficulty, yet the Roberto Cavalli Clivia’s worked wonders. The tortoise resin frames gave just the right amount of character I was looking for in a new pair of shades. Due to the uncooperative weather in England on the first day, wearing my new face fashion was out of the question… unless I wanted to look like a hungover celebrity (quite typical in the city, but I was not ready to conform that quickly). Even though my face was bare, I made sure to dress accordingly to the early rainy fall weather – Talula anorak, Brandy Melville loose L.A t-shirt, and a functional pair of black Citizen “Avedon” skinnies. Confession: I wish I sized down in the Citizens, due to the fact that they severely stretch.

40 minutes after leaving Heathrow Airport, I arrived in Kensington at my hotel, Citizens half way down my bum, arms almost detached, Cavalli’s squeezed into a pocket, but to my good fortune: feet warm and snug. If this wasn’t a promising sign for the next year, I don’t know what else would be.

This entry was published on October 12, 2012 at 8:34 am. It’s filed under Fashion, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

